Menu

Menu

Complaints Updates

We are delighted to present a comprehensive overview of our recent customer feedback, highlighting key insights and showcasing the ongoing efforts to enhance our services. In this report, we delve into the complaints and compliments received, share the outcomes of Stage 1 Complaints in November, discuss our learnings from customer feedback, and celebrate positive remarks from our valued residents.

Investigate the reasons for 1, stage 1 complaints, their outcomes, and any compensation provided.

 

Reason for complaint

Resolution

Outcome

Conduct of the Housing Officer during the visit and outstanding repairs

Explained changes to the Housing Officer
Repairs currently within the timeframe

Not Upheld

Unfair treatment from the Housing Officer regarding the request for a fence.

Explanation provided
Alternative solution offered

Not Upheld

Letter received regarding overdue gas safety check, customer felt she had been discriminated against

n/a

Customer Withdrew Complaint

The introduction letter for the new gas contractor was sent with the incorrect name. This had happened before and had been advised it was resolved

Apology
Compensation offered

Upheld

Previous visits from D&M surveyor however no actions, Issues with roof.

Apology
Remedial Work Compensation

Upheld

A leak from the roof came down the bedroom walls. Roof works had not been arranged

Apology
Remedial Work
Compensation

Upheld

BSW attended the property 1 month ago and did not return, the boiler has now been shut down by Smith & Byford as unsafe

Apology
Remedial Work
Compensation

Upheld

The taller sink was not installed as recommended by OT, the door hits the bath and the tiling is not complete.

Investigation ongoing

 

Gutter repair was reported on Oct 23 however not complete, quotes for replacement soffits were received in March but no action was taken

Apology
Remedial Work
Compensation

Upheld

Windows painted shut during communal redecoration and conduct of operative when approached

Apology
Remedial Work

Upheld

Unhappy with the increase in service charge based on services received

Investigation ongoing

 

Requested twice for partner to be added to household however has not received a response

Apology
Partner added to Household
Compensation

Upheld

Time taken for window to be installed (12 months after stage 2) & no H&H for 3 weeks

Apology
Compensation

Upheld

Damp & Mould in cupboards were reported on January 24, Concerned for children's health as also mice infestation

Investigation Ongoing

 

DD has not increased for new rent, the letter states this is due to HB error customer does not feel we should recover money

Investigation ongoing

 

The customer & Daughter are stuck in the lift and the lift breaks down regularly

Apology
Confirmed refurbishment due August 2024

Upheld

DD does not increase in April, received no contact regarding this and the account is now in arrears

Investigation ongoing

 

Appealing decision for refused pet request

Confirmed refusal
Agreed to review in 6 months

Not Upheld

State of the rubbish situation since communal bins were removed

Reminder to all residents on where rubbish should be placed

Upheld

Bathroom works still have outstanding issues with leaks for the past 2 years

Investigation ongoing

 

Discovered damp and mould in walk-in wardrobe which has damaged clothing

Investigation ongoing

 

Unhappy with nomination refusal

Investigation ongoing

 

Information about HB stopping for sheltered residents

n/a

Customer Withdrew complaint 

Unhappy with service charge for window and communal cleaning compared to service received.

Investigation ongoing

 

Length of time to resolve mould issues reported on Oct 24

Investigation Ongoing

 

Rent refund not given, communication with a resident regarding issues, multiple repair issues since moving in and information supplied at letting

Investigation ongoing

 

Water coming down the lounge wall, and extensive repairs to the balcony have not resolved the issue that have been ongoing since 2017

 

Investigation ongoing

 

Severe damp & mould in bedrooms, the roof was looked at from outside no attempt to go into the loft

Investigation ongoing

 

Dispute service charge amounts

Investigation ongoing

 

 

 

Learning from Complaints

The Quarterly learning from complaints meeting was held in April, where the following improvements were identified:

Issue Identified

Suggested Improvement

Flux dripped on gas meter pipework during a boiler installation resulting in a gas leak

Remind Smith & Byford to ensure that the pipework is covered during a boiler install

Flux dripped on gas meter pipework during a boiler installation resulting in a gas leak

Check with GCS that they are checking the pipework to the meter as part of their audits

The customer was not clear who was handling his complaint between our contractor and WH

The policy is now clear contractor will handle stage 1 and WH stage 2

DO not use warning notice placed on boiler but not explained to the resident

Smith & Byford  to ensure they are using the correct procedure when placing danger do not use on boiler. Shawn to check they next 10 notices

Quality of communications sent by gas contractor

Letters to be reviewed with the Residents Voice

Data used for new contractor was out of date

Standard mobilisation plan has been created

Complaint not logged when originally emailed

Training provided to Customer Experience Team

Consideration needs to be given to who is attending joint visits in sensitive situation

To be discussed with the Neighbourhood teams

Managing expectations when we are not responsible for repairs during defect period

To be reviewed as part of the Dev handover

Developer did not receive job tickets

Testing of job tickets to take place before handover to ensure these are working

Timescales for defects being rectified by the Developer have taken a long time

Review contracts to see if it is possible to build in contractual timescales moving forward

Investigate the reasons for 9 stage 1 complaints, their outcomes, and any compensation provided.

Reason for complaint

Resolution

Outcome

Customer has changed their kitchen cabinet and noticed a hole in the wall, installed the cabinet and has reported the hole to be fixed. Resident has been told to remove the cabinet and we will fill the hole customer has found this to be unreasonable

 

Offered to remove the cabinet as a goodwill gesture

Not Upheld

Ongoing issues with damp and mould in the property

Remedial repairs ordered
Apology
Compensation offered

Upheld

Ongoing issues with a leak from the roof over the last 2 years, repairs have only been done to half the roof and concerns for childs health

Apology
Further investigations into the cause of the leak

Upheld

CO2 leak in the property following boiler installation

Investigation ongoing

 

Unhappy with the handling of ASB reports

Investigation ongoing

 

Inspection of the property was completed in February due to damp and mould however no further action since then.

Arrange for Mould treatments and a damp inspection to be completed

Upheld

Customer felt that the Rent Booklet was misleading and feels the service charge was disproportionate to the service received.

Explanation provided regarding service charge

Not Upheld

Poor communication from WH & Gas Contractor, customer was not notified of works needed to the boiler and asked to sign for all information included on the gas safety check

n/a

Complaint was withdrawn by the customer

Customer tap disconnected in their hand, out of hours would not send plumber and therefore water was turned off

Apology
Compensated for the cost of bottled water

Upheld

 

Investigate the reasons for 15 stage 1 complaints, their outcomes, and any compensation provided.

Reason for complaint

Outcome

Resolution

Damp and mould issues ongoing since 2014, lack of communication from Worthing Homes.

 

Upheld

  1. Apology
  2. Remedial Works
  3. Compensation
  4. Decorating Voucher

 

Ongoing issues with a leak and damp since August. Source of the leak not identified and works not completed to resolve this.

Upheld

  1. Apology
  2. Remedial works arranged

 

Delays with repairs being completed that have been reported within defect period and lack of communication from WH and Bellway regarding this.

Investigation ongoing

TBC

EICR completed and item not replaced in cupboard after resulting in trip.

Not upheld

Apology

 

No heating and hot water, concerns with window cleaning schedule and time taken to resolve repair issues.

Investigation ongoing

TBC

Unhappy with the standard of communal cleaning.

Upheld

Apology

Garden not been cleaned of paint marks following communal redecoration. Garden items removed by contractor.

Upheld

 

  1. Apology
  2. Replacement furniture ordered by contractor
  3. Garden clean arranged

Tree owned and maintained by WH caused damaged to shed.

 

Upheld

  1. Apology
  2. Contribution towards damaged items

 

Leak in kitchen 15 months ago however remedial work not completed and poor communication from Worthing Homes.

Investigation Ongoing

TBC

Delays with replacement windows, increased energy costs and can not afford to have heating.

Upheld

  1. Coverings for windows
  2. Agreed property would be part of the first 2 receiving replacements
  3. Contribution towards heating costs

 

Waste water leak back in Sep 22. The time taken to resolve this is an issue as it has had an impact on mental and physical health. Now experiencing damp and mould again.

Investigation ongoing

TBC

Damp and mould ongoing since 2019, concerned for children's health.

 

Upheld

  1. Apology
  2. Compensation
  3. Remedial works

Intermittent leak for past 2-3 years. Damaged ceiling and duvets. Concerned for health of her and child.

 

Upheld

Surveyor visit arranged to source leak

Unannounced visit from Housing Officer and Neighbourhood Manager.

Investigation Ongoing

TBC

Windows causing extreme condensation resulting in mould, windows also very drafty.

Not Upheld

Required works arranged

 

Learning from Complaints

Issue Identified

Suggested Improvement

Housing Officer was on annual leave followed by sickness resulting in cases not being reviewed in a timely manner.

We will review our out of office procedure to ensure that review of cases happens in staff absence and the correct out of office messages are placed on emails.

Customer raised concerns about ASB Policy and timescales for which we respond.

We will be reviewing the ASB Policy and publish on our website.

Customer raised concerns that contact information was removed from the website for the Housing Officer.

We will review our customer service offer and ensure that we are clear about the way’s in which we can be contacted.

We were unable to locate a document from 2015 during a complaint investigation.

We will ensure all staff are trained on using our EDRM document storage solution

Information not always clear when new builds are handed over from development/defect periods. This has resulted in lack of contractor availability for some repairs and miscommunication to residents.

We will review the handover process from Developer to Worthing Homes, to ensure contractors are invited to attend to view components that have been installed.  We will also look to incorporate a detailed handover for key areas of the business.

Some components in new build properties have different contractors to our standard contractor, however Customer Experience are not always clear on who to use.

We will review this process to ensure the Customer Experience Team receive the correct information at least one month prior to us becoming responsible for repairs.

CX does not list the individual components for new build properties.

We will review this and are looking at implementing a desk top stock condition survey at the point of hand over which will be input into CX.

Customers have experienced delays with work being completed by Developers during the defect period.

We will review this process to ensure we are reviewing outstanding works orders, we will also consider options should the works not be completed by the developer.

During a period of no heating and hot water a Bayside one of the residents was decanted, other residents who were not do not feel this was fair.

We will be reviewing our Decant Policy.

During periods of no heating and hot water at Bayside, some residents were compensated and not others.

We will be reviewing our compensation policy and the procedure that should be followed where an issue effect multiple households.

During periods of no heating and hot water at Bayside communication with the residents has been poor leading to frustrations with resident.

Communication moving forward to be done via CX feedback which can be delivered by SMS and Email, this allows us to communicate to allow residents at the same time.  Surveys to be issued when we receive an initial report of no heating and hot water.

Updates for the residents at Bayside has not always been sent in a timely manner causing frustration and resulting in the residents chasing for this.

Communications will now be owned by Ian Reed and his team and will be sent around the 16th of each month.

 

Positive Feedback from our residents

“Can you thank the gardens for the wonderful job they are doing in our garden it looks amazing and so beautiful  they have worked so hard and me and my husband are so thankful to them”

“Good Morning Emily,

Thank you for your email and attached letter.

May I take a minute to appreciate the response. You haven't left a door unturned and I am grateful for the time you have given up responding to this complaint in the correct manner and timeframe.

I am happy to accept the final response, on the basis (as you say) you will keep in touch to ensure the work is completed on the 1st of March.”

“I have been a resident of worthing borough council and worthing homes for 45 years. Thank you worthing homes. Apart from my kitchen i have a beautiful home. I am so lucky i have had a few hiccups with them over the years but i think thats normal. but Thank you”

Investigate the reasons for 10 stage 1 complaints, their outcomes, and any compensation provided.

Reason for complaintOutcomeResolution
Lift broken down and time taken to resolve thisUpheld
  1. Repairs completed
  2. Apology
  3. Compensation offered
Eviction from property and length of notice givenNot UpheldTimeline provided
Repairs outstanding, multiple communications however work not completed, items damaged.Investigation ongoingTBC
Lack of action regarding ASBNot Upheld
  1. Offered to seek  further legal advice from solicitors.
  2. CCTV to be installed
Delays with work being completed by BSW following a new boiler installationUpheld
  1. Works completed
  2. Apology
  3. Compensation offered
Delays with Section 20 for a replacement doorUpheld
  1. Apology
  2. Compensation offered
Delay with heating repairsUpheld
  1. Repairs completed
  2. Compensation offered
Delay with heating repairsUpheld
  1. Repairs Completed
  2. Compensation Offered
Damp & Mould in property and delay with repairs being completedUpheld
  1. Repairs arranged
  2. Compensation offered
Gas leak in property following boiler installationInvestigation ongoing 

Positive Feedback from our residents

“Wanted to Thank Zoe and grounds team for all their hard work”

“Thanks to the ladies on the phones who do a great job”

Investigate the reasons for 6 stage 1 complaints, their outcomes, and any compensation provided.

Reason for complaintOutcomeResolution
Allegation that the Housing Officer gained access to the property when the resident was not there.Not UpheldLetter was sent confirming we do not have keys to the property
Concrete fence support erected by non-resident which sits on Worthing Homes landNot UpheldPermission retrospectively granted and letter sent to non-resident stating they must seek permission in future and confirming there is no change in the boundary
Lack of response from Worthing Homes regarding concerns for safety in property due to not knowing contractors are due to visitUpheldCommunal door locks changed, all existing key safes removed and alert placed on file to notify resident when visitors to the building are due
Communal cleaning not being completed and damaged caused to residents hoover when cleaning themselvesUpheld
  1. Apology
  2. Cleaning arranged
  3. Compensation for the damaged item
‘Do not Use’ notice placed on boiler, Poor communications from Worthing Homes and BSWUpheld
  1. Apology
  2. Compensation
  3. Remaining works were completed by another contractor
Items damaged by damp and mould, standard of works completed by PH Beck and the Housing Manager did not test walls with a damp meter before stating these were dryUpheld
  1. Apology
  2. Compensation for damaged items
  3. Independent damp inspection arranged

Positive Feedback from our residents

“Yes so am I they came out very quickly and done a. Great job So thank you for all your help”

Investigate the reasons for 5 stage 1 complaints, their outcomes, and any compensation provided.

Reason for complaintOutcomeResolution
Delays with repointing works being completedUpheld
  1. Apology, work arranged
  2. Compensation offered
Fly tippingUpheld
  1. Apology
  2. Rubbish cleared
Handling of ASB reportsPartially Upheld
  1. Apology
  2. Compensation offered
Damp & Mould and lack of communication/actionInvestigation ongoing 
Delays with section 20 works being completedInvestigation ongoing 

Learning from complaints:

Communication to customers regarding planned works
Whilst we do communicate with residents regarding upcoming works, we have found that we have not communicated to residents when works are delayed.  Communications moving forward to include a single point of contact for the works and the Asset Manager will be reviewing our Housing Management System (CX) processes to ensure regular communications are issued.

Repairs not thoroughly investigated or followed up.
It has been identified that our Surveyors need some further training in correctly diagnosing the root cause of recurring repair issues. We are currently in the process of adding additional resources to our Neighbourhoods teams and it will be an objective for the new Reactive Repairs Manager once in post to look at the training needs of our Surveyors.

Resident Consultation was not held when the fire doors were installed at one of our sheltered schemes.
We recently installed fire doors at one of our sheltered schemes and we did not complete a resident consultation ahead of the doors being fitted. This resulted in a door being fitted to a resident’s property that they have experienced difficulties using. Moving forward we will be holding resident consultations at our sheltered schemes for any fire door replacements before the works go ahead, this will give residents the opportunity to ask any questions and view the type of doors that will be installed.

Positive Feedback from our residents

“Lorna got involved and through “Her tenacity and persistence she managed to get my bill drastically reduced and sort out EDF in the process.  She was so helpful, and it was a relief to know that the bill they sent me was not realistic or correct” “Lorna went above and beyond to help me, and I really appreciate it”

“Joanne called to report that the new cleaners are great.  She said 2 males attended today and cleaned everywhere.  Hoovered, got the high cobwebs and did an impressive job.  Much better than the last contractors and asked to keep them!”

“Oh my goodness i’ve just opened the envelope on the way home and I stopped speechless of my goodness!!!! I can’t even explain how stunned and amazed I was! i’m utterly speechless! I’ve always wanted to take my kids to a pantomime!! you have honestly made something I never thought imaginable happen for me and my kids wow i’m literally crying in public”

We believe this information serves as a vital tool in our ongoing commitment to providing exceptional service to our residents. We will use these insights to strengthen our processes and ensure that Worthing Homes remains a place our residents are proud to call home.